This is a compensated review by BlogHer and Intel. That said, I promise to give the truth, the whole truth, and nothing but the truth when telling you about this product. (Internet, please, like I’d try and convince you to buy stuff I didn’t like myself.) So here’s my disclaimer: yes, I got sent this thing for free and I’m getting a little bit of money to tell you what I thought about it, but I would never, ever pretend I dug it when I didn’t. Cross my heart and swear to Jordan Catalano.

When I first got the email asking me if I’d like to review the Viliv X70EX I forwarded it straight to Sean. “This gadget looks cool,” I wrote. “But I have no idea what it is.” Sean wrote me back so fast that he must have got whiplash doing it. “THAT IS THE MOST AWESOME THING EVER,” he said. And then he sent me a link to some videos on Amazon---where I also discovered that the Viliv X70EX costs $599+, and anything that costs $599+ has got to be fairly impressive---and although I dutifully watched these videos, I’ve got to tell you, I still wasn’t a hundred percent clear on what the Viliv X70EX actually was. I mean, I was maybe, like, seventy four percent sure. And a half.

It wasn’t until the Viliv X70EX actually arrived on my doorstep and I unwrapped the box that I had a better picture of what it supposed to do. I’m not exactly a technology whiz, in case you haven’t noticed---I can pretty much turn my computer on, but all bets are off after that; I mean, once I unplugged the router to get the Internet working again in our house and just about bought myself a bottle of champagne to celebrate---so the Villiv X70EX was kind of mystifying to me, at least until I started playing around with it.

And then I figured out what it is: it’s basically like a very, very small laptop---smaller than a paperback book---but without a cover or a keyboard. Is this making sense? Well, how about this: it’s sort of like an iPhone if your iPhone worked out over the summer and got a little bit heftier, and also started hanging with a different crowd and running Windows instead of being a tiny Mac. Basically, you can take the Viliv X70EX anywhere and do lots of awesome Internetty things on it. I like doing awesome Internetty things. I also like going places. This boded well for my relationship with the Viliv X70EX. It seemed like maybe we were going to get along.

viliv x70

Here are some basics about this awesome little gadget, in case you were wondering: it's only 7 inches long and a little less than an inch thick. It has a touch screen, which is pretty cool, as well as a built-in GPS navigation system and a webcam. It has “full PC capability,” which means you can pretty much do anything on it that you can do on a normal PC (like type something up in Word, for example.) And since its formal title is a “mobile internet device,” you can get on ShirtlessJaredLetoPhotos.com—or, you know, wherever you spend the majority of your time, no judgments here---wherever you can find an Internet connection.

In short, this thing is like a tiny little baby computer! I want to tickle it under its chin and ask it whoooooo’s a cute little mobile internet device, who, who, who?

It also has something called the Intel® Atom™ processor which, the marketing blurb assures me, “has been designed to be smaller and more power efficient, enabling you to get devices with full PC functionality that can fit into your purse or pocket.” While I’m not sure this thing would be slim enough for me to put in my pocket, per se---at least not without making a half dozen “is that a Viliv X70EX or are you just happy to see me?” jokes first---I definitely had no qualms about tossing it straight into my purse. It took up far less room than my ridiculously overstuffed Moleskine day planner and probably weighed less too.

And this, you see, is how I ended up carrying the Viliv X70EX with me on a recent trip to Mexico City. Hey, I thought, I’m mobile. This thing is mobile. Let’s see how mobile we can be together.

Yeah, we were pretty mobile together. It was pretty awesome. In the space of four days, I watched a movie on this bad boy on the plane (after downloading it from iTunes in advance), Skyped with Sean from afar thanks to the handy built-in webcam, updated my Twitter and Facebook statuses, stored a few pictures from my camera’s memory card on it and then sent them to Sean to show off my fancy hotel room, downloaded a book from Amazon and read it using the free Kindle for PC app, and checked both my work and personal email accounts about fourteen hundred times. Not bad for something I didn’t really understand about a week ago.

For typing and clicking around, the Viliv X70EX comes with a built-in stylus that snaps neatly into the top when you’re not using it, and it’s way less annoying that you might think it would be (and much easier than just using your index finger, text message-style.) My Mac snob husband said the video quality wasn’t the best he’s ever seen, but then again he’s my Mac snob husband, and it seemed pretty passable to me. The device kept a charge for a decent amount of time and really, it did so much and made my travels so much easier, that I’d be hard-pressed to find too many things I didn’t like about it.

(I mean, sure, it would be great if there were a button that automatically puts it into standby when you’re done using it---rather than going to the Start menu, clicking “shut down,” and then putting it in standby mode, which was sort of clunky—but that’s really a fairly minor complaint, and you know what, maybe I just need to stop being so damn lazy. There are three buttons to push instead of one! My god! The sky is falling! etc etc etc.)

Anyway, now comes the fun part. Would you like your own super awesome teeny-tiny mobile internet device?

Because guess what? I've got one to give away! Yep, you can win your very own Viliv X70EX---did I tell you these things cost $599+? That's a pretty generous holiday present to yourself—by answering a simple question.  How would this mobile internet device make your life easier?

To enter, leave me a comment below---or a link to a post on your own blog---with your answer to the question above. The contest will begin on December 8, 2009 and end on December 30, 2009. Make sure that the e-mail address you leave is correct so I can contact you when you win. (You’ll know it’s from me because I’ll put OMG OMG OMG in the subject line.)

Here are some rules:

  • No duplicate comments.
  • You may receive an additional entry by linking on Twitter and leaving a link in the comments.
  • You may receive an additional entry by blogging about this contest and leaving a link in the comments.
  • This giveaway is open to US Residents, aged 18 and older. (Sorry, foreign teenagers! That kind of sucks for you.)
  • Winners will be selected via random draw, and will notified by e-mail.
  • You have 48 hours to get back to me, otherwise a new winner will be selected. That person will be like “damn, that other person was sleeping on the job.”

You can read the official rules here, if that’s your bag: And you can also give yourself EIGHT more chances to win a crazy awesome gadget like this one at the BlogHer page right here. You can also read more about the Viliv X70EX here.

So let's go! Let's win some free stuff! Tell me: How would this mobile internet device make your life easier? What would you use it for?

681 Comments

361
Stephanie
Dec 10, 2009

Oooh this sounds amazing! This would make my life easier, umm I am stumped because how couldn't it?! I mean there are so many times where I'm at the grocery store, needing to look up a recipe.. In the car with my friends and I need to know the name of a song, when I'm on vacation and need to upload pictures NOW! Basically any time or place where I need to do something umm, now!

(Sorry if I'm entering twice, I swear, I'm not cheating! It just said error the first time and I want to make sure I enter!)

362
Stephanie
Dec 10, 2009

Oooh this sounds amazing! This would make my life easier, umm I am stumped because how couldn't it?! I mean there are so many times where I'm at the grocery store, needing to look up a recipe.. In the car with my friends and I need to know the name of a song, when I'm on vacation and need to upload pictures NOW! Basically any time or place where I need to do something umm, now!

363
Kait
Dec 10, 2009

This would make my life easier because I'm a college student with two small children, a husband and only one computer in the house. Anything that would make it possible for both of us to be online and working on homework would make my life infinitely easier.

364
Laura Harris
Dec 10, 2009

I am a stressed out teacher who could really use this. It would go a long way to reduce the stress.

365
terry
Dec 10, 2009

I would love to use this puppy during my loooong commute every day - smaller than a book and I could even get some work done if there was an emergency!

366
Sioux
Dec 10, 2009

Well, number one, I loved my iPhone, but it never felt big and powerful enough to really accomplish what I wanted it to accomplish. I wasn't necessarily thinking about this and TRYING to destroy it when it fell into a toilet in a dirty bar, but that did happen, and now I have no way to check my email, twitter, and otherwise flit about the internet while riding the bus to work everyday. With this device, I could do all that and also play tons of games during business meetings while maintaining the facade of strenuous note-taking.

367
Nan
Dec 10, 2009

i travel around all of los angeles county all day every day working with homeless families - this would definitely help me look up directions , research and find numbers for resources, and kill any down time, all while on the road. plus it would sure make up for having a "dumb" phone and launch me into the 2010s ahead of the technology curve for once. pick me!

368
bec
Dec 10, 2009

This would allow me to keep in touch with my 11-month-old baby when I have to travel. I could keep my bigger, heavier, laptop at home, so he and his dad could keep in touch with the grandparents via Skype. I get to see the loves of my life, my parents and in-laws get to see the loves of my life, everyone wins!

369
kim
Dec 10, 2009

This little computer would make my life much more mobile! Right now I've only got a PC so anytime I feel like writing - I have to be home! This little device would give me freedom! It would likely produce a bestseller even! :)

370
kim
Dec 10, 2009

Also, I've tweeted about your giveaway!
http://twitter.com/lucid_kim

(and wow, I'd never heard of this little computer - sounds wonderful)

371
Julie
Dec 10, 2009

I have 3 kids (ages 8, 6 and 3) and so I spend a good portion of each day driving to various activities and then waiting.... I wait during dance class, I wait during swim lessons, I wait before school pick-up... (you get the picture).

It's a glamorous life, I know, but imagine how much MORE glamorous I could be with such a cool gadget in my hand? Think of all the things I could be doing with it as I sit in the bleachers while the 2nd graders run around during basketball practice? I'm getting giddy thinking about it...

372
CharlieSue
Dec 10, 2009

Ok, so this is going to sound PITIFUL, but I can't check Facebook or blogs or Twitter even from work. And my Blackberry CRAWLS on the internet as though I'm asking it to WORK TOO HARD. But this- this! Would solve all my woes!

373
Kelsey Kim
Dec 10, 2009

So I can shop, blog, and email ANYWHERE. How cool is that?

374
jennifer
Dec 10, 2009

not sure - give me one and i will find out though :)

375
Wendi
Dec 10, 2009

Wow!! This thingamajig would make my Christmas a whole lot more merry. Like so many others we've hit a bit of a wall financially and there simply aren't going to be as many presents under the tree this year. But a cool device like this would more than make up for it!!

376
Stacey
Dec 10, 2009

This would definitely make my life easier because my boyfriend lives so far away. Well he's in Ireland and I'm in the states. Somehow, he still doesn't have a computer and talking on the phone as often as we do, even with skype, is too much! This would be a fantastic way to keep in touch with him, making my life 1,000 times easier. Also, whenever I'm over there (which is often enough), it's like I'm out of contact for days since my phone won't work and his lack of a computer. We could definitely use this!

377
Leigh
Dec 10, 2009

I'm not mobile-enabled AT ALL, so this would make me free to do WHATever WHEREver I am. And wouldn't that be oh-so cool. Pick me!

378
Diggs
Dec 10, 2009

This gadget would make my life easier because I still live in the stone age and don't have Internet on my phone (gasp!), which has become a bit of a nuisance. A teeny tiny computer would quickly solve this problem.

379
NatalieW
Dec 10, 2009

I'm going to Chicago for a week over Christmas, and instead of accidentally knocking out fellow passengers with my bulky laptop bag while navigating the tight aisle on the plane, I could simply slip this device into a super cute purse!

380
E's Mommy
Dec 10, 2009

It would make my life easier because I could check my e-mail and surf the web while waiting for my toddler and preschooler at their schools. Without hauling my giant laptop (the big screen seemed like such a good idea at the time) all over creation as I drop them off and pick them up. And I could use the GPS rather than having to remember to google map and print everything before I leave home.

381
Melissa
Dec 10, 2009

I would love to use this to check out all of the blogs that I read instead of lugging my huge laptop over to the couch. I love my iPhone so I am sure I would have an immediate love connection with this little guy!

382
Moose
Dec 11, 2009

Oh god. I could work anywhere. I'm slavering over here. Honestly drooling.

383
Bethany
Dec 11, 2009

I work from home on a big desktop computer, so this little thing would actually allow me to go out to my favorite coffee shop and still get some work done.

384
Lori
Dec 11, 2009

Wow, what a great giveaway! I'd love to be able to work from anywhere and my husband would be soooo super-thrilled to have this that I would probably get out of buying him gifts for the next 2 years!

385
Shelley
Dec 11, 2009

I would use the GPS to navigate myself while in town and traveling. I could check my email remotely and finally get on twitter!

386
Allyson West
Dec 11, 2009

I would blog, of course!

Seriously though, having this would make my life so much easier. Guess what I use as a laptop right now? Yes, a laptop. But it's eight years old. Did you know that those even functioned anymore? I did not. But they do, and mine is the prehistoric fossilized truth of that.

Love your work!
Allyson

387
Anne in SC
Dec 11, 2009

What would I NOT use it for??? My current computer is slowly dieing (old battery, broken hinge) and I am currently looking for a new one. So, aside from all of its nifty technology, it would also keep me from having to be "plugged in" all of the time....pick me, pick me!

388
Kelly
Dec 11, 2009

I'd love to be able to work on the go!

389
Sara U.
Dec 11, 2009

I am waiting on my cell plan to be up, so I can go iPhone.....so this device would actually make my boyfriend's life better....he might actually get his iPhone back!

390
Tara
Dec 11, 2009

oooh, i would LOVE to own this! i currently share a laptop with my boyfriend - it is his work computer - so needless to say it is hard for me to get any time on it! i also travel a LOT - this would solve both problems! Thanks!

391
Kristine
Dec 11, 2009

As a new working Mom my schedule is packed. I rush to work, rush to clients, rush to the store, rush home, etc. If I could catch up on my emails on the fly, it would free up some of my time to spend with my 14 week-old daughter. Also, have you seen how much crap you need to lug around with a baby? A small mobile device isn't a luxury, it's a necessity.

392
Rebecca
Dec 11, 2009

I wouldn't have to rely so much on that old laptop from my first year of law school (2002!) when I am trying to use a computer at home. OH BOY, would this thing make my life easier/better!

393
elizabeth
Dec 11, 2009

How could a device like this NOT make your life easier? From being able to bring home work without lugging a company laptop around to the ease of getting and sending email! The possibilities for me are endless!

394
Lo
Dec 11, 2009

Ooooh soooo awesome! I can just imagine how much fun I'd have on my daily commute to work. Movies? Checking my email? Looking up recipes to gingerbread and then comparing them by the amounts of molasses they have? PERFECT. I also tweeted: http://twitter.com/laurenpt1

and blogged: http://failedmuffins.blogspot.com/2009/12/awesome-giveaway-over-at-nothi...

Yaaaay!

395
helen
Dec 11, 2009

Love, love, love it! Santa please make my dreams come true.

396
Mary
Dec 11, 2009

This would make my restaurant exploring/ reviewing hobby a lot easier!

397
Laura
Dec 11, 2009

It would make my work life much easier- my current laptop is very old and slow and I could use this for web surfing and e-mails!

398
Kim
Dec 11, 2009

Oh, my gosh - this would make my SO life much simpler. I am a freelancer, so I am always trying to keep track of different projects while going 29 different places!!

399
rachel
Dec 11, 2009

It would be perfect for me because my husband has been talking about a GPS device and I just can't justify getting one when we'd rarely use it. This device has GPS capabilities and internet? Score!

400
Ariel
Dec 11, 2009

Man, my back sure is hurting from toting my laptop the BLOCKS AND BLOCKS AND BLOCKS from my bus stop to my classes. What a cute little tiny and easy to carry computer could do for it, I can only imagine.

401
Susan
Dec 11, 2009

Oh how wonderful it would be to take my computer with me when I go out and about. I could blog from Barnes & Noble, or from the local ice cream parlor, or from Harris Teeter, or from the front yard while the children are playing. It would add an entirely new dimension to my blogging. What a blessing that would be!!!

402
Susan H.
Dec 11, 2009

What wouldn't I use it for? Photos, updating Facebook page, watching movies--having a mini computer with you at all times would be the BEST.

403
Anne in SC
Dec 11, 2009

I'm sharing this review with others. Thank you for the opportunity to try to win this nifty little thing.

http://undertheredtinroof.blogspot.com/2009/12/you-know-me.html

404
carrolju
Dec 11, 2009

this would make my life easier because I could then hide somewhere in the house and check my email without my 3 yr old seeing me and then demanding to play on the KaPuter. Or she could play on my laptop and i could play on this one-yeah that would work too.

405
Patty V
Dec 11, 2009

Oh Holly, my life would be so much easier with this because I wouldn't have to fight my husband who would be online 24/7 if possible for use of the computer. sigh.

406
Gina
Dec 11, 2009

Since I don't have a laptop or iphone, I could use it for EVERYTHING!

407
emily
Dec 11, 2009

This would make my life much easier. I often end up dragging around my hulking laptop (think baby's first laptop from 1990 and you are on the right track) simply to access a few excel spreadsheets or files for work. Stupid. This would make my life oh so much easier and my bag oh so much lighter.

408
Eileen
Dec 11, 2009

This would totally make my life easier because I could be ensured I can keep my job. I could do all my personal internetty things on this lovely device, and not be afraid that I will LOSE my job for doing all those personal internetty things on my work laptop. Because having a steady income makes everyone's life easier!

409
Carley
Dec 11, 2009

This thing looks beyond awesome. I'm actually not sure if I could handle all of the awesome, but I'll give it a try!

410
dma
Dec 11, 2009

I'm unemployed and miss having an "official" portable electronic device - especially when I'm scribbling appointments on bits of paper and bringing them home to find conflicts on my desktop calendar!

411
corrie
Dec 11, 2009

I'd use this thing everywhere - particularly for the GPS. I am tired of getting lost, and think this might help me stop doing it!

412
Lea Chan
Dec 11, 2009

I think this little computer that could would make long road trips a lot more bearable. Who can beat an entertainment center and a GPS all in one?

413
Lea Chan
Dec 11, 2009

Tweeted: @chanlea
Giveaway: Viliv X70EX (mini computer) - http://nothingbutbonfires.com/reviews/small-perfectly-formed-intel-viliv...

414
charise
Dec 11, 2009

Doing grad school work on the go without toting my meant-more-to-be-a-desktop-replacement heavy ass laptop around!

415
Krista
Dec 11, 2009

Wow, this would be a huge blessing! I could do so many things with this. I would love to win!!

416
Jenine
Dec 11, 2009

It would let me be connected when I am kicking my heels waiting for my school aged children to be done doing something. I could check weather, road conditions, start times, etc. while also answering email and managing pictures, all while waiting for ballet class to finish up. Sounds pretty awesome.

417
cristen
Dec 11, 2009

i am self-employed, and this thingy would be fabulous to have running around town trying to get work done. i don't even really use a cell phone much, but e-mail all day long, so this would be helpful.
can't imagine that i could possibly win such a cool thing.

418
Abby
Dec 11, 2009

This device would be perfect for helping me resist the lure of the iPhone :)

419
Laney
Dec 11, 2009

Oh that little tiny device looks divine!

I'm freelance and thus, when I don't have a job (like, um, right now), I always feel the need to be connected so that I can shoot off my resume at a moment's notice (something not really possible with my Blackberry.)

And when I AM working (casting for reality TV), I am usually in a different city every three days and, well, I have to drag my cumbersome laptop along with me.

One of those would make a world of difference - especially on my poor, aching, lugging-a-laptop-across-the-country shoulders.

420
Maggie
Dec 11, 2009

I could watch tv on the internet! My computer is too sad and old for that. Hooray!

421
tuesday
Dec 11, 2009

It would make my life easier to be on the go with 3 small kids. I can keep track of my calendar and keep in touch with my husband!
tuesdayef at aol dot com

422
Heather
Dec 11, 2009

How would this make my life easier. Better planning while I'm on the go instead of waiting until I get home to get to my desktop? My laptop is too bulky and doesn't have much battery life left anymore for carrying everywhere.

424
Cassidy
Dec 11, 2009

This would make my life easier as I could read books on it when I travel and play videos on it to entertain my 1 year old on long road trips. Love it!

425
Carla
Dec 11, 2009

This would make my life so much easier for me to keep in touch with my family and show off pictures of my 6 week old daughter.

426
Lisa
Dec 11, 2009
427
Milcah
Dec 11, 2009

This would make my life easier by providing somewhat of an escape for me when we're on the go or something I could let the children use to keep them entertained and hopefully quiet :)

428
kimblahg
Dec 11, 2009

Oh how I want that teeny computer! I would let my 10 yr old use it so he doesn't use my laptop to go to cartoonnetwork.com!

429
Valerie
Dec 12, 2009

My life would be so much easier with this because I could use it in the car rider pick up line (to pass the boring wait everyday), I would also use it to find good deals while out and about shopping, and I would never have to miss any emails because I didn't get time to check them while at home. It would also be nice for those long plane rides when my laptop battery dies and the kids are driving me crazy!

430
Isabel
Dec 12, 2009

My laptop is sadly "dying" as I type this - so this little device you are generously giving away will fill a HUGE void!

431
jen
Dec 12, 2009

I have no clever and novel answer to this because your readers are already all clever and novel. Once someone says what you were going to say, the novelty is gone.

I'd use this sucker to blog from "away".

*whispers so laptop doesn't overhear* This would be great, because my laptop is a piece of crap. It's missing the "two" key, the battery dies after 6 minutes of being unplugged, and it's running Vista. VISTA! :headesk:

Oh... and my cell is the furthest thing you can get from an iPhone or Blackberry or one of those Blog-from-"away" phones. It's a prepaid piece of junk.

Oh yes... the things I could do with this nifty thing you seek to give away!

432
Jennifer
Dec 12, 2009
433
Jennifer
Dec 12, 2009

This device would make my life much simpler because...wait for it...wait for it...are you ready?

Well, it'd take all the stress out of saving up for a new computer. My current pc is about to go kurplunkered belly up and is way past its expiration date. I just might add this bad boy to the potential replacement list even if I don't win.

Though I'd really really triple really like to win. So....lets make that happen, ya?

434
Jennifer
Dec 12, 2009

What a heavenly piece of hardware! This gadget would make my life easier by giving me a place to escape during the painful hour of dance class. DROOL!!

435
jasmine lew
Dec 12, 2009

OMG OMG OMG! pls pls pick me! pls! I'm a poor starving pediatric resident in a huge hospital that apparently has a shortage of computers! Having a mini one that I can carry around so that I can look up correct drug dosages would be totally helpful!!!

436
DG
Dec 12, 2009

it would help me keep in touch with friends at any time! It's tough with our schedules but this would help!

437
DG
Dec 12, 2009
439
Meghan
Dec 12, 2009

Don't need it, but sure do want it.

440
Michelle
Dec 12, 2009

This would make my life so much easier at work! I work in the school library so instead of dragging my laptop all over the place helping other teachers I could just grab it and go. Access my school main, chat, everything.

But it would definitely be used for play too. Twitter and Facebook while laying in bed? Yeah!

441
Erika
Dec 12, 2009

That's amazing. This gadget would make my life easier when my husband's deployed because I could have web cam access anywhere I could get internet instead of freaking out when my phone chimes that he's online...meanwhile I'm twenty minutes away from home without my laptop, and he only has about that much time online. And the luxury of not freaking out like that would be awesome.

442
LV
Dec 12, 2009

This would allow me to get out of my home office and sit in the living room to do my work.

443
Krys
Dec 13, 2009

My husband HATES Microsoft. So he has "end processed" every process he doesn't understand to "stick it to the MSN man" and accordingly his PC doesn't process at all. Not sure who he thinks he's sticking it to here, but I'm pretty sure it's not Bill Gates, because now I have to share MY laptop with him!

If I had my own teeny, tiny computer given to my by the inimitable Ms. Banks, I could share it with him with strict admonishions to END PROCESS NOTHING. Then I could get back to catching up on every one of your archived posts.

444
Jason M.
Dec 13, 2009

The Viliv X70EX would make my life a whole lot easier primarily by reducing my eyestrain from having to use the tiny screen on the iPod touch to browse the internet. I'd really appreciate the extra screen real estate as my vision is already very poor (I'm legally blind). I would use it to check my email, keep up with electronic/video game reviews/news and use Twitter on it. It would be a game changer for me and I'd gladly tell everyone I know about it!

445
Denise
Dec 13, 2009

How would it not make my life easier?! I could use this to search the internet for the best prices while shopping. Keep in touch on Facebook and read blogs while in bed instead of in this horrid computer chair. :)

446
Mindy Merenghi
Dec 13, 2009

This would make my life easier so I wouldn't have to carry around my MacBook when I'm traveling or going to class! :)

mdmerenghi@gmail.com

448
Shannon
Dec 13, 2009

This is sooo cool. I mostly work from home but do have to go to the office sometimes for some things and I do have to take my big laptop with me - even if it's for a brief office visit. It's about a 20 minute walk lugging that heavy thing so, my life would be made easier if I could take a teeny tiny computer for those short office stints.

449
John Melendrez@mail.com
Dec 13, 2009

I'm starting my own landscape business so this mobile internet device make your life easier because I could check my email on the go and use it to keep track of my appointments and bids and to help me connect and find potential customers.

Melendrez@mail.com

450
John Melendrez@mail.com
Dec 13, 2009