Apr
21
2009

Prints Charming

HP Photosmart c6380

The first thing you should know is that I'm going to be giving away a pretty awesome prize at the end of this entry. No, it's not an evening with Brad Pitt or a lifetime's supply of cupcakes, but would you really want those either of things anyway? The former would probably be a major disappointment because Brad would just chatter on about Angelina's astounding beauty all the way through your chicken piccata---seriously, how much of a buzzkill would that be?----and the latter would be great for about fourteen minutes, until you realized you couldn't fit into any of your pants anymore. 

A couple of weeks ago, BlogHer asked me if I'd like a free HP Wireless Photosmart C6380 All-in-One Printer to review. My response to that question was exactly what you'd assume my response to that question would be: a hearty YES MA'AM, possibly accompanied by an awkward little dance of glee. The printer arrived in an enormous box, and promptly sat in my hallway for two weeks, while I cleaned and vacuumed and maneuvered around it and tried to figure out where I could set it up, because did I mention it arrived in an enormous box? I'll tell you again: it arrived in an enormous box. My apartment is wee, you see, and my desk is even wee-er, and for a whole two weeks this flummoxed me: where could I put the printer? It would have to go on my desk, surely? Next to my computer? Because printers always have to go next to computers, right?

Internet, I believe myself to be a moderately intelligent person. I believe myself to have a soupçon of common sense. And yet, I am about to admit to you that apparently I have absolutely no comprehension whatsoever of the word "wireless."  Now brace yourself for this next bit, because this sort of blew my little mind---or at least it did once I'd finally figured it out---but a wireless printer, my friends, HAS NO WIRES. Do you know what this means?. A wireless printer does not have to be plugged into your computer. And this means that a wireless printer does not have to sit next to your computer! A wireless printer can go ANYWHERE IN YOUR HOUSE. I'm sorry for the excessive capitalization and italics, but this concept took me a good few minutes to wrap my head around. And until I could wrap my head around it, all my thoughts appeared in my brain in upper case. 

After that, of course, I went a little hog wild. "We could put it in the kitchen!" I said to Sean. "In one of the closets! Or I know, WE COULD TOTALLY PUT IT IN THE BATHROOM. Imagine if your printer was in the bathroom, right next to your extra toilet rolls! How hilarious would that be?"

In the end, we decided to put the printer in the living room, because that's where we had the extra space. But just knowing that I could have put it, say, on my bedside table if I'd wanted to, gave me a curious sense of freedom. Trust me, this is an absolutely beautiful revelation for those of us who live in small apartments like mine.

So here's the thing: I have never before had my own printer. This has often been something of a handicap, sure, but mainly I have got around it by just trying to avoid ever having to print things. Sean has his printer, so we've always had one in the house, but Sean's printer is ginormous and professional and meant to do special things like print large-format archival-quality photographs and frighten small children, so I've always been a little anticipatory about using it. In fact, if you knew how many boarding passes I'd accidentally printed in full color on horrifically expensive photo paper, you'd be a little anticipatory too.

The HP Wireless Photosmart, however, is a whole lot more user-friendly. And when I say it's user-friendly, this is really just a polite way for me to say that hey, if I can set it up, anyone can set it up. A child could set it up. A one-legged clown could set it up. My cat could set it up. Hell, my cat could set it up if I blindfolded him and only read him the instructions in Shakespearian English. It is, as we say in the United Kingdom, a complete doddle. As a person both technically challenged and easily frustrated, I appreciated that very much.

As printers go, this one is pretty nice-looking; it has a fancy digital display, which I liked, and it's fairly unobtrusive. Sure, it's still a gray printer, there's no getting away from that, but it's not horrendously ugly like so many printers are. And one of my favorite things about it---possibly because I'm so lazy---is you can print from anywhere in the house. Sean and I both installed the software on our own computers, you see, so we can now share access to the printer without either of our machines ever having to be plugged into it. This means, for example, that I can be sitting in the kitchen on my laptop, become seized with the urge to print out a full-color picture of a shirtless Zac Efron the periodic table of elements, press a button, and then walk into the living room to collect my goods. Sean can do the same. Though Sean probably wouldn't be printing out pictures of a shirtless Zac Efron. Um, I mean of the periodic table of elements.

And now here's the part where I somehow manage to work my wedding into this review. What, you didn't think you'd get away with not hearing about my wedding, did you?

In order to test out my new HP printer, I decided to use it for one of my many DIY wedding projects. I have a list a mile long of DIY wedding projects, and top of that list was these amazing photo lanterns from Decor8. (Seriously, go look at them; you'll die.) I'd been putting this project off because I didn't have a) a scanner, or b) a printer I wasn't completely intimidated by, but once I got the HP Wireless Photosmart C6380 All-in-One, all that changed.

Because oh yes, I might have neglected to mention this until now, but that "all-in-one" part? Why, it refers to the scanner and photocopier that are integrated into the printer. That's right, Internet, not only does this little marvel produce excellent quality prints and photos, it also lets you scan and photocopy things all in the same place. And can I just pause for a second and tell you how badass it is to have a photocopier in your living room? It's like living in the future! It's like being beamed into an episode of The Jetsons! AS GOD IS MY WITNESS, I'LL NEVER GO TO KINKO'S AGAIN.

Sean and I set about making the lanterns earlier this week as a collaborative project. Since we're not usually the type to indulge in couple-centric crafts when there's a perfectly good marathon of House Hunters on, it was a slight change to our normal week-night routine, but we had a lot of fun with it. The least fun part was going out to Ikea after work to get the lanterns, of course, but hey, look what we saw in Office Depot when we were buying the vellum! It's my printer! Hello, printer! You're going to make someone very happy indeed!

You can use any design to print onto the vellum, but since we seem to be incorporating a lot of maps into our wedding elements, I decided to scan one of the vintage maps I bought on ebay last week and use that. The scanner worked like a dream---it was probably the most straight-forward scanner I've ever used---and the printer handled the vellum marvelously: the design of the map came out crisp and clear and the colors were completely true to the ones on the screen.

It sounds simple, but I really appreciated having the scanner and the printer in exactly the same place, and being able to flip between the two with the push of a button. And just so the photocopier didn't feel left out, I conducted a little experiment on that too.

Once we'd trimmed the vellum, inserted it behind the glass of the lanterns, and lit the tea lights inside, we had our first DIY wedding project complete.

Don't they look good? I'm really, really pleased with them. Thanks to the great quality of this snazzy little printer and its handy all-in-one set-up, they were honestly a cinch!

So now it's time for the fun part. Would you like your own HP Wireless Photosmart C6380 All-in-One Printer? Because I've got one to give away! And all you have to do is tell me this: Why do you want this wireless printer? What would you use it for?

To enter, leave me a comment below, or answer the question on your own blog and leave your link in the comments. The contest will begin at 12:00 a.m. (PST) on Wednesday, April 22nd, and will end Tuesday, April 28th at 11:59 p.m (PST).  Make sure that the e-mail address you leave is correct. 

Here are some nitty-gritty rules. You know I'm a stickler for rules!

  • There are to be no duplicate comments. Please only enter once.
  • HOWEVER: You may receive an additional entry into the competition by answering the question on Twitter as well and leaving a link to your Tweet in the comments. You may also receive an additional entry by blogging about this contest and leaving a link in the comments.
  • This giveaway is open to U.S. residents. (Sorry, readers in Nepal! I guess shipping would be a bit of a bear.)
  • The winner will be selected via random draw, and will notified by e-mail.
  • Once I notify you that you've won, you have 48 hours to get back to me, otherwise a new winner will be selected.

If you don't get lucky here, head over to the BlogHer page for another chance at winning the same printer. You can also read what five other reviewers thought of it (hint: we were all pretty much on the same page. Ha! Page! Get it? Just a little printer humor for you there.) You can also head to the HP Wireless Printer site for more information.

Full disclosure #1: in case you didn't realize it already, this is a compensated review from BlogHer and HP Wireless Printers. Full disclosure #2: Sean will kill me for revealing this, but when I told him I was going to title this post "Prints Charming"---my other suggestions were "One Day My Prints Will Come" and "Prints Among Men," but neither of those was quite right, as you can probably tell---he said "what about "A Wireless Kiss From Prints Charming"? AND HE WAS SERIOUS.

***********************************

So! Ready? Got all the fine print? Then let's go! Trust me, you really want this printer. So just tell me why you really want it. What would you use it for?

363 Comments

271
Tracy H
Apr 23, 2009

First off let me say, shirtless Zac Efron = YUMMY!!!

And the printer is a dream! I have never had a printer that worked right. This would make me so happy! I have 2 little ones and we could find endless things to print, copy & scan! But my girls draw the cutest pictures and someone gave me the idea to scan their drawings and save them that way instead of saving endless piles of paper. Genius!

272
CC
Apr 23, 2009

well...the reason i want a wireless printer is to elimate the cord jungle that is taking over my desk. i have an ancient old school style desk top which in and of itself it a bit of a beast, but to make matters worse, THERE.ARE.CORDS.FREAKING.EVERYWHERE.

and i suppose i'd be nice and share it with my roomie.

i would use the printer to print fancy resumes so i can wow everyone with my creative skills and find a job stat. and to print off photos and such for my scrapbook.

273
Dolores George
Apr 23, 2009

I homeschool my children(4 little ones..2 boys and 2 girls) and my husband is in the military. I am constantly printing things off for them. This printer would make things so much easier for the family and for me.

274
Cassandra
Apr 23, 2009

You have no idea how timely this contest is for me!

I've been researching agents for ages now and i've got about 15 that I really like. However, 3 of my top 5 require paper queries, two of them want the first three chapters included. That's easily over 100 pages of printing.

My problem is that I do not have a printer at all, Not even one of those old tan ones. Nada. If I want to print something, I have to email it to myself AND use a flash drive because the computers at the library are notorious for not handling email attachments well, that's IF I can get them past their "screener" software that most of the time just freezes the computer and makes me have to restart. And if there's a line of people waiting for a computer, I've got to get to the back of the line and wait for another to become available. AND, if it does manage to open and (gasp!) print, it is on one of those old tan ones that leave streaks in the lines of text. Not the best professional first impression I'd hope for. AND they charge me 10 cents a page! It sucks.

Being able to print at home would save so much trouble and hassle and MONEY. Scanning would be AWESOME, too, because I've always wanted to try and go as paperless as I can, scanning receipts, important doc's, etc. That would help. I've got a scrapbooking project for my family tree, too (the GEDCOM file lists over 600 people i've got to keep organized!) and being able to add pictures to my family tree file (without having to pay walgreens to scan them and put them on photodics) would be really awesome.

So. Yeah. Those are my reasons!

Thanks!

cassandrabrownwrites AT gmail DOT com
cassandrabrownwrites.blogspot.com

275
Cassandra
Apr 23, 2009

I've blogged about it, too:

http://cassandrabrownwrites.blogspot.com/2009/04/linky-friday-pre-book-b...

(link will be active early tomorrow morning, like 2am)

cassandrabrownwrites AT gmail DOT com
cassandrabrownwrites.blogspot.com

276
cassandra
Apr 23, 2009

I’ve twittered it, too!

http://twitter.com/thatwemightfly/statuses/1597860160

cassandrabrownwrites AT gmail DOT com
cassandrabrownwrites.blogspot.com

277
JoAnn
Apr 23, 2009

I LOVE THE PRINTER! I want it for no other reason but to smother it with love. And perhaps print off some lovely pictures of my children.

278
L. C. Sterling
Apr 23, 2009

It's a color printer ... and scanner. A color printer and scanner! I've always wanted a color printer ... and scanner. Always.

Think about that yellow-highlighted copy that needs fixing in chapter 12. Think about printing it out in color!

Think about photos ... no more having to rush off to Costco for prints of the pooch from the digital camera.

Think about scanning absolutely anything ... like maps of southeast asia, like your passport, like those funny photos your friends sent of their disastrous trip in the mountains ...

Think of it. Yes, just think of it.

L.

279
Carly
Apr 23, 2009

My boyfriend is trying to "make it" as a writer. We would use it for printing the many mailings, flyers, and other PR that we do!

280
Dr. Maureen
Apr 23, 2009

I need the printer because our printer sucks and this one HAS NO WIRES. NO WIRES. IT IS WIRELESS. I would use it to print out photos and driving directions.

281
Megan
Apr 23, 2009

I would use this printer for a few different things. I'd finally be able to print photos of my hubby and I to send to my Grandma. All we have are digital cameras and the 'print-it-yourself' machines at the store are never working.

I would scan our awesome wedding photos that we only have single copies of. No digital file.

I'd be able to print normal stuff without wondering if the printer will actually print or not. My current printer likes to take days off randomly.

I would use this printer as pretty decoration on my dresser, as that is the perfect (and only!) spot it could live. My current printer lives on my living room floor. I also have a tiny apartment.

My current printer has a VERY short cord. I can't even leave it plugged in. Any time I want to print, I have to drag the thing over, plug in the power cord, plug in the USB, and hope that my computer won't pull the 'unrecognized device' error.

I would be ecstatic to have this printer. :D

282
Michele Lee
Apr 23, 2009

I would use the printer to print out care/responsibility/behavior/reward charts for my autistic son. I just made a "How to take care of me" chart and my stupid old printer totally botched the graphics, so now it looks horrible. You can't even tell the picture of a boy putting on a shirt in the "Get dressed" box is a person.

283
Bev
Apr 23, 2009

I'd love to win a printer, I need one BAD!! (actually Chris sent me, so pick me, pick me!!!)

284
Claire
Apr 23, 2009

Are you kidding me?? I'm a broke, 28 year old, pregnant (!!), two job working, full time nursing student! I'd use the bloody thing to save on uni printing costs!

ha!

285
Disgruntled Bear
Apr 23, 2009

Please! I need a new printer! My husband came back last month from working overseas, and he stole his back (has he no shame?).

I have three main uses for it:

1) I need it to print out things for my kids' art projects (I have three children under age 4 -- fear for me). I also want to scan in some of their best artwork, so I can make copies to send to their grandparents.

2) I need it to print query letters and partials for my recently completed novel (written during a year of nap-times).

3) I need it to print out the ceremony notes and programs for my brother's wedding this fall (I'm officiating). BTW, I'm sending them a link to show them those awesome lanterns.

286
Amber Argyle Smith
Apr 23, 2009

I need this printer because mine is possessed. Don't believe me? Here's my proof:
1. My computer will not start if the printer is on.
2. Even though we buy the right size catridges, they do not fit.
3.My printer interfers with Word, bringing up an error message every time I shut Word down.
And finally:
4. Microsoft claims the problem is HP's fault. HP claims the problem is the computer's (Dells) fault. Dell claims that the problem does not exist outside of my mind and has recommended a psyciatric unit--all with a very nice Indian accent.

287
Wendy Withers
Apr 23, 2009

I need a printer, because when I bought a new MacBook last year, I found out my old printer wasn't compatible with it. And, since I graduated from college DURING A RECESSION, I have no money to buy a new one.

288
Wendi
Apr 23, 2009

I actually have a computer. We call it monochromosaurs. I also have 4 wonderful children who are ALWAYS needing items printed for school. Science fair, art club, vocabulary word hat day, book reports...you get the idea. I don't just want that printer, I NEED that printer! And making your kicky little lanterns would be fun, too!
Thanks!

289
Laurie
Apr 23, 2009

Okay, I did die when I saw those lanterns! Wow, they turned out beautiful. If I won this printer, I would definitely make some for my deck.

I need the printer because mine has gone all quirky and doesn't like to play with my laptop. And I really need to print out a copies of my novel to begin sending to agents...very soon.

Great review and great website! I'm glad Nathan sent me your way.

290
Danielle McGurk
Apr 23, 2009

I would love to win this printer because my cats really need something better to do with their time than destroying the carpets and gnawing through unopened Dorito bags. I think they would enjoy setting up the printer quite a bit, actually, although I might have trouble reading to them in Shakespearian English... Also, I'm really tired of going to Kinko's every time I need to make a copy.

291
Karen
Apr 23, 2009

ooh! pick me! I'm ashamed to admit that I'm that girl that brings her personal photocopying to work. Which, I know, is just like stealing company resources. Choose me, and save me from a life of crime!

292
Holly Fieger
Apr 23, 2009

I would LOVE this printer because I write and print a devotional/family news sheet daily for my family and give it to them in the morning when I wakethemup. My current HP (and I LOVE HP printers!) is not wireless and I often have problems getting it to print. This unfortunately, can lead to rushed.... not so happy mornings as the kids head off to school. As a matter of fact, I am currently having some problem with my firewall of my laptop not letting the print command go through to the desktop where the printer is connected. All too many details I am sure-but suffice it to say-this would be a dream. I have been doing the devotions for three years and hope to continue printing each morning... so could sure use this. I am also a scrapbooker, so what more could one want! :)

293
mbbored
Apr 23, 2009

My goodness! How many times have I run to Kinko's or sneaked back into my office on the weekends just to print something or make a photocopy? I need this!

294
anna
Apr 23, 2009

i would like this printer because i spend 10+ hours a day with my 3 kids under the age of 2 in a third floor walk up. my oldest has cerebral palsy and epilepsy but because she's adopted from ethiopia we do not qualify for social security insurance. (you have to be a u.s. resident for 5 years to qualify for benefits.) i'm in the process of attempting to get an amendment added to this law that would make an exception for children who are adopted. it's discrimination, really. if it were my biological son with these difficulties, we would qualify but because she is adopted - nothing! anyway, (sorry, guess i needed to vent some more) i could use this printer to write more letters to more people to draw attention to this oversight in the law. plus if we had the extra money from ssi then i could enroll her in things like swimming and music classes, and get her new leg braces ($800 a pop!) that would help her so much. and even if she's 5 by the time anything happens, i'm sure there are lots of other families like ours out there whom this law affects. thanks!
p.s. i really love the lanterns!

295
Nicole
Apr 23, 2009

I need a new printer and this sounds like the most awesomest bestest printer ever! My husband is the main income provider, I stay at home, taking care of our little six month old while trying to make a career out of being a writer. I normally edit by printing out my manuscripts and cross lines out and editing with my red pen but my printer died several weeks ago and we can't afford a new one and I don't know how long it would take for us to save up for a new one. And this printer sounds so wonderful and the pictures! All the pictures of my baby that I could print and send to all my relatives! I won't resort to begging but please consider me.

296
bonkrood
Apr 23, 2009

I have been trying to make a photo DVD from my mom's picture albums but all I have is a clunky old scanner with wires and she is moving soon and will discover that I have stolen her photo albums unless I get this project done and this printer would be the perfect thing to help me finish this project without wires. Also I would print stuff!

297
Sensibly Sassy
Apr 23, 2009

I REALLY WANT this printer...times ten! My boyfriend and I just got a new bulldog puppy and I am constantly taking pictures of him and paying to get them printed. I can't believe I am admitting this (take it as a sign of how much I want it) but we print pictures and hang them at his eye level so he can see us while we are gone.

298
Megan
Apr 23, 2009

OOH I would love to win. Right now I would use the printer to make copies of the floorplan I drew of my kitchen - I am getting ready to redo it. Then I would use it to make my mom's mother's day present. She said she wants a framed photo of me and my brother and sister and my neices and nephews...

299
Caroline
Apr 23, 2009

I would likely use it for boring things, like printing out articles. But in between boring uses, I would love to print out pictures from my cool days of living in Japan. And make dioramas.

300
Chicki Brown
Apr 24, 2009

This request isn't for myself. I already have a great HP laser printer. My daughter runs a small homeschool where she teaches her three children and two others. Her printer died several months ago, and she's not financially able to replace it.

She uses her computer to print out lessons, tests, and online research for the kids. Getting a new printer would be a wonderful blessing for them.

301
Bob Watkins
Apr 24, 2009

Save our marriage!

Seriously, you don't get an opportunity like this every day, to create marital harmony with just a simple thing like a wireless HP printer. But our current shared printer is on my computer, which means - well, you can imagine what that means.

As a bonus, we'll each contribute an essay on how we lasted 24 years (in May) to help you start your own dynasty of wedded bliss. Pick us!! Please?

302
Alana
Apr 24, 2009

Loved the lantern project you made for your wedding! My plans for the printer would be to make invitations, banners, etc. for my daughter's birthday party. How great is it that the printer is wireless?!!! Brilliant thinking people!

303
Shveta
Apr 24, 2009

I have never owned my own printer. As a writer planning to become a career author, this seems like one of the most basic tools I could ever have. Plus it would make me so happy, knowing I could actually print things at home, in color, instead of having to sneak black-and-white copies at the office. That would make my month, honestly.

And the fact that it's wireless is even better; I currently use a Lenovo netbook, so a printer that allows it to remain portable is a beautiful thought. :)

304
JulieJ
Apr 24, 2009

I'd give the printer to my daughter. She is a stay-at-home mom raising her first baby (my first grandbaby!) and she doesn't have a printer.

305
April
Apr 24, 2009

I'd like to use the printer to produce the materials for the classes I teach, in addition to printing out the articles and other research materials that I need to write my papers for graduate school.

Did I mention I'm a poor graduate student?

I'd certainly make use of it!

306
Tracy
Apr 24, 2009

Ooh, what a promising looking piece of equipment. I'd like this printer b/c our current printer is totally crapping out and because the scanner and photocopier would make my life so much easier. I have a ton of pics and documents I need to scan and if I had a photocopier at home I could stop using work equipment to do personal photocopying!

307
Kami
Apr 24, 2009

Me! Me! I need a printer. I have a clunky old Dell upstairs in our dusty computer room that neither prints, scans, nor even photocopies...why is it still taking up space? Well, because I'm lazy. I have a child, and digital photos, and need to rely on Shutterfly! But if I won this beautiful printer, my life would change forever.

Here's my Twitter entry: http://twitter.com/gsblueeyes/status/1604806196

And here's my blog entry:
http://gsblueeyes.blogspot.com/2009/04/i-want-to-win-this.html

Thanks for the chance!

308
Kami
Apr 24, 2009

Oops, I think I did this wrong. I originally put my tweet link and blog link all in one comment...but then how would I be entered 3 times??? Duh.
Here's my tweet
http://twitter.com/gsblueeyes/status/1604806196

310
Kim
Apr 24, 2009

I love this.

I just got a laptop and would love the freedom to be able to print things from my living room without having to run into the office to hook it up to my archaeic, hand me down printer.

311
Kim
Apr 24, 2009

I just linked you to my blog. I need all the chances I can get!

312
Mama Goose
Apr 24, 2009

My 5 year old son would be tickled beyond belief to win this printer. He uses my old laptop to play his Rescue Heros game and he finally got all the way through it and is now an official Junior Rescue Hero! Sad thing though, he can't print the certificate to hang on his wall. Can you say Total Devistation?

Thanks for the opportunity!

313
Margie
Apr 24, 2009

We have 5 computers in our house - a wireless printer would be wonderful!

314
Megan
Apr 24, 2009

Those lanterns are amazing! I didn't even realize you could do stuff like that with your printer.

I'd love a printer like that, as I write at home all the time and am constantly battling the urge to use the printer at the office to print off my obnoxiously long novel so I can edit it on paper instead of off of a computer screen.

I would also do nifty crafts like those lanterns because they are amazing. But I mentioned that already.

And the wireless thing is the best part. My poor tiny apartment has one room where we keep both my husband's computer, my computer, a television, his Xbox and all the annoying accessories that go with that. Having something WITH NO WIRES would be so wonderful that I can't even imagine it.

315
Tracey Hewison
Apr 24, 2009

I want it because I am greedy and I would use it for EVERYTHING!!!!! ;-) (like making cards for my 'bugs')

316
Gina
Apr 24, 2009

I would LOVE that printer because our family converted to Judaism a few years ago (total switch, no, not even one person was Jewish, we went on a spiritual quest and viola! matzah balls!) and my daughter's bat mitzvah is coming up and we REALLY need to keep it all on a tight budget.....and this would help so much with doing some cool, funky crafts to dress up the party. Help us keep our held high with a modest party, in the midst of all these others parties that looks like....weddings! We'll make good use of it, promise!

317
Moth
Apr 24, 2009

I'm an aspiring author soon to be living all out on my own where I shall not have my own printer. I could use this printer ever so much.

Pretty please?

318
Sarah
Apr 24, 2009

My printer has spent approximately 2/3 of its two years living in my apartment BROKEN, squatting in the corner of the desk and gazing at me with it's one baleful green eye.

I would use the printer to print all my short stories and broken novel chapters to edit the bejeebers out of them.

319
angela
Apr 24, 2009

Well, I don't have a printer so I could really use it for things like sending you and thank you card when I win!!! =)

320
Gina
Apr 24, 2009

I would take the printer out for a nice seafood dinner, and then I would make awkward advances towards it. It is beautiful! And I would use it for printing scans of the tiny watercolors my boyfriend paints, and emails to me. It is going to be glorious!

321
Katherine
Apr 24, 2009

I would use it to print pics of my own prince charming (he's approximately 34 inches tall and has finally learned to give kisses with his mouth shut, thank goodness, cause only a mama could love slobbery toddler kisses and even still they made me gag a little!)

322
Peg McGuire
Apr 24, 2009

Because I've been waiting for my Prince Charming for much too long. Since he was a no-show, I'm settling for the "Prints Charming."

(get it?)

In all reality, my printer died and I'm too poor to buy another one--or to set up shop in Kinko's.

Wonderful blog post. I love those lanterns.

323
Jill
Apr 24, 2009

My old printer leaves black marks on everything. I would use a new one to print out lots of cookie recipes!

324

Hmmmm, I could make my kids math worksheets, but in reality, it will be used by my girls to print barbie clothes and other pink stuff.

And I would be soooooooooooo happy, you wouldn't believe ^^

Karen

325
estavares
Apr 24, 2009

Those lanterns are AWESOME.

Here's another tech orphan with his hand out and his best "Oliver Twist" voice: "Goo'eve'n yer ladyship. May I have some more?"

Why me?

I'm a teacher getting laid off who needs to print 3,000 resumes PLUS I produce a non-profit haunted forest during Halloween each year and I do all the advertising / posters at Kinkos which cost a fortune PLUS my wife's a scrapbook monster who just saw her printer die giving birth to a million digital prints PLUS the very tilt of the Earth will settle into a more comfortable orbit if that printer is cared for in my cozy little den.

Thanks, yer ladyship.

326
LiteralDan
Apr 24, 2009

I certainly hope you got that picture of your hand by pressing it down on some kind of transparent sheet, and not on the scanner glass. I can't imagine the horror! That's considered abuse in some circles, lady.

As for what I could use this for, I have to say all the reasons you love it-- our apartment is beyond pressed for space, what with four of us in here and the two smaller ones of us obsessed with spreading toys and other acoutrements as widely as possible across any and all open space.

We could find a home for this and just leave it there. It be so nice to print stuff at home! These days, my wife stays late at work printing out teaching plans and handouts and such whenever needed.

How sweet would this be? Let me close my eyes and imagine, virtual cupcake in each hand. And since you brought her up, I suppose Angelina could serve them to me.

327
Anne in SC
Apr 25, 2009

Lanterns are fantastic!!
I would dig having this printer as I have had no luck with my previous HP all in ones. The first blew its ability to fax. The really great warranty sent us another. Once I finally got the need to scan photos.............the scanner doesn't work. Of course this happened after the 30 day return window - bummer me for not double checking this. But I hadn't really had a need for it. Then, we decided to do what all americans (world inhabitants) are doing and convert our old pictures to digital. Bummer - no scanner. Now I can't even scan old photos to put on facebook. Aside from my normal printing duties, the scanner is the part that excites me the most!

Help - I need this!

328
Jessa
Apr 25, 2009

I covet this paragon of printer virtue because I volunteer at a tiny charter (public) high school that currently has one printer for its 62 students and assorted staff. And yes, that printer is inconveniently wedged into the front office. Bringing in this wireless beauty that could go anywhere -- *anywhere* -- would probably make me the superest, most goddessy office parent of all time.

329
Honey Martin
Apr 25, 2009

I'd love to have this printer for my elementary schoolcomputer lab. We do art projects in the computer lab but we don't have a color printer to print the students' work. They would love to see what they've done in color!

330
Erin
Apr 25, 2009

Oooh, those lanterns are fabulous!

And why do I need a printer? Because my mother-in-law, bless her sweet Southern heart, keeps calling and asking for us to send her prints of our toddler. And since we don't have a printer and she just CAN'T buy her own, we have to send them to the photo lab, pick them up, and deliver them to her.

With a printer, I could just stick them in the mail, thus ending much family strife. Problem solved. :-)

331
Kristen
Apr 25, 2009

Okay, so I'm always printing out things for work (schedules, contracts, funny pictures of dogs in costumes so that I laugh and don't hang myself when work isn't going well), but WE DON'T HAVE A WIRELESS PRINTER. So, there's all this business of saving my files to a shared thingamabob, and then finding it on my husband's computer (which is hooked up to an old printer). I mean, it works, but I avoid doing it when at all possible. I would print out many more funny pictures of dogs in costumes (like the wiener dogs with hot dog buns on them? hilarious!) and be happier in general with this printer in my life. Thanks!

332

I'm always in need of a new printer. Our house is like the Bermuda Triangle for printers and now that they are wireless I'm in heaven!! My 'office' is a niche/ corner of the bedroom so that the kids can't find it and if I could print without having to feel like I was being punished I'd feel much happier!!

333
Stephanie
Apr 25, 2009

I created a post on my blog about your review and the giveaway.
http://whatacoolidea.blogspot.com/2009/04/giveaway-in-blogosphere.html

334
Beth
Apr 25, 2009

Ah, this printer would be so useful for me! Why? I, too, live in a small apartment. A studio actually. It was built in the 1920s and while some things have been updated, the number of outlets have not. I have two useable outlets and so even with power strips, plug space is at a premium. I've got a scanner and I've got a printer, but due to the plug situation and the lack of space, I can only have one plugged in at a time. I'm a photographer and my scanner gets priority, so my printer is sitting under my desk and hasn't been touched in ages. I always end up having to print things out at work which is far from convenient. I could definitely use the all in one thing. It would be nice to have the option to print up my own pictures. Thanks!

335
April
Apr 25, 2009

This is pretty sweet! I would use it for scanning the mounds of family photos that we found in my grandparents' house, and then to make copies of good ones for my other family members.

(p.s. I'm sorry but I HATE your pulse checker thingy. It always takes at least 3 tries, and I have no idea what I'm doing wrong.)

336
Celeste
Apr 25, 2009

I need this because everyone in my family has a laptop, but it gets pretty annoying when we all cannot print! I would love to use this at home - so the whole family can use it.

337
sutswana
Apr 25, 2009

With this printer I would...
Finally print the 6,000+ photos that are currently bogging down my computer's hard drive, and thus be motivated to store them elsewhere electronically;

Do some cool art, finally, to revive my inner artist, long neglected for domestic (kids, husband, house) and professional (teacher) hats I also don;

Give away my perfectly decent current printer on freecycles.com;

Just be really psyched and grateful.

End.

338
Heather S
Apr 26, 2009

I would use this printer to print out all of my graphic designs - greeting cards, notecards, bookmarks, postcards...yay!

339
Lauren S.
Apr 26, 2009

First of all, if I win this printer, I will be forced to purchase a new computer, an idea that has been on the backburner for the last three years...but also, I'm a major coupon printer and would absolutely love to digitalize the vast amount of pictures I have around my house!

340
Cam
Apr 26, 2009

Well, with an endorsement like that... Seeing as I've quit my job and am moving to a new city to work freelance from home in the midst of a crippling recession, at at-home (wireless!) printer would allow me to:

1. Print resumes beautiful enough that potential employers feel downright compelled to hire me
2. Do totally awesome craft projects (like the one above) in the process of moving into/decorating my new house
3. Save a bunch of money I'd otherwise spend at Kinko's doing the above
4. Remain entertained for hours

I've also been known to sing to my electronics to coax them into working. '80s hair metal usually does the trick, but I'm open to whatever musical persuasions this little fellow might possess.

341
Chrissie
Apr 26, 2009

The lanterns are such a neat idea!
Thanks so much!
Chrissie

342
Allyson
Apr 26, 2009

Ooh, fancy!

I need that printer, for lo, I have a new roomate, and currently, my printer is languishing in her room, taking up her space, and I HAVE NO ROOM FOR A WIRED PRINTER. So I need a wireless printer that I can place, say, on top of the fridge, or in the closet, or on my Ms. Pac-Man kitchen table or something.

I shall use it to print photo-shopped Atari manuals to intersperse with my Atari "artwork" that's up around my apartment currently.

And maybe to, you know, do actual work.

343
greyfavorite
Apr 26, 2009

Still pining for this lovely little printer and so I herewith submit Entry #2, via Twitter.

http://twitter.com/greyfavorite/status/1624901282

344
Rhi
Apr 26, 2009

If I do not win this, I'm going to have to buy a new printer cable, to replace the one I broke. And, I'm just not willing to spend the $10 on a new one. Mainly, I'm just lazy.

345
greyfavorite
Apr 26, 2009

Contest entry #3: in which I explain that if I can find grace in small things, then I can want small things. Like this printer.

http://greyfavorite.blogspot.com/2009/04/want-want-want.html

346
Megan H
Apr 26, 2009

I would like to have this printer to do more projects at home. I would like to print some of my designs to frame for my house! :D

347
Julie Weathers
Apr 27, 2009

Normally, I would come up with some goofy story to answer your questions, but I think I used up my goofy a little bit ago.

Why do I want this wireless printer? I need a printer that works all the time for my writing, but more importantly I need something to scan reliably. I can scan photos some of the time, but it takes several minutes and then I have to go through a very convoluted mess to crop them. The scanner scans the entire bed, not just the photo.

What would I do with it? I'm just winding down an interesting divorce after 35 years of wedded bliss. Interesting is part of an old Chinese curse, I'm told.

My youngest son is in Iraq, he got to spend four days with his new baby before he deployed. Pictures of the tyke on my blog if anyone wants to see them. He doesn't have room for a lot of pictures or even a picture frame, but he said he would find room for a digital frame if I could find one and scan photos for him. I told my other children I would scan family photos for them, but it's been slow going and I am running out of time.

Not really sure why I am saying all this for a random drawing. It's late, I guess.

348
Robin Glover
Apr 27, 2009

I have 2 printers. I do not need a printer. However the homeless people at the kitchen I volunteer at on Thursdays need food. If I win this printer I would sell it and buy food for the kitchen. I think I could get between $100-150 for it on craigslist. $100 will buy main course protein for approximately 250 people. Or it could buy 200 boxes of cake mix to make 2400 cup cakes. That is not a lifetime supply but I would make a lot of hungry people very, very happy. When you are on the street and do not know where you will sleep or eat next a homemade cupcake can look a lot like love.

349
juliloquy
Apr 27, 2009

I would use the printer to help me in the job hunt; I am following my husband, who just got a park ranger job in western Maryland. We are leaving our beloved Philadelphia and I am leaving my job.

Thanks for the contest.

350
Kristin
Apr 27, 2009

I have been a big photo-taker practically since birth - I have nearly a dozen of the old magnetic albums at home (going all the way back to my first camera in fifth grade!) and at least as many photo boxes all stacked up in the closet, just waiting for a home. I keep making yearly resolutions to get them all together, but just looking at them makes me tired. But with a brand new wireless scanner, I could finally get all of them in one easy-to-organize location!

351
lh
Apr 27, 2009

I just bought a new computer that won't work with my old printer. This printer would be the perfect solution!!

(If this entered twice, I'm really, really sorry. I'm not trying to cheat, but it didn't seem to take my first attempt & I couldn't find it in the entries)

352
Alison
Apr 27, 2009

Luuurrrrrve the lanterns! And good luck with the rest of the wedding DIY projects.

As an aspiring writer the printer would be very useful to me. Two of the agents I'm querying actually won't accept emails ... in this day and age!

And as a writer who has no job, the printer would be even more useful in printing out those resumes and cover letters that get expensive at Kinkos. Very expensive. So expensive that, had I known how long the job-hunt was going to be, I would have scraped together a bit more money and just bought a printer. Too late now. No money left.

Photos to scan ... queries to send ... resumes to provide income.

x Fingers Crossed x

353
Yana
Apr 27, 2009

I need this printer because I have TONS of pictures in albums that need to be digitized, as well as TONS of digitized pictures that need to be printed and hung on my bare walls. And, because I will go berserk if I see another cable on the floor in my house. Cable management only goes so far.

354
gracie
Apr 27, 2009

I would love a new printer to accompany me to my first year of university this fall. Can you raffle off a new laptop next month?

Brilliant!

355
Random
Apr 27, 2009

My roommate and I would use this printer extensively. We are in college, and are about to head to graduate school. At the moment, printing at school is extremely expensive (and the statewide budget freeze has just meant that we have to provide our own paper as well). As the papers get longer and more involved, and as we have to put more and more pictures (I study biology) and figures (he studies mathematics) into our work, we are desperately feeling the need for a printer. We can't afford to buy one, due to tuition and food and rent and bills, so winning one would be a real boost to our education and to our day!
(Thank you for running this contest, by the way.)

356
Kate (Sassafrass)
Apr 28, 2009

Somehow, delurking for the chance of material gain seems so very very wrong. But it's a simply wonderful prize and one that would bring such happiness and joy to my life.
(oh, and I absolutely LOVE your blog--the envy I feel over your constant traveling knows no bounds)
A wireless printer would have so much value in my home for several reasons:
*We have no printer whatsoever, none.
*Our little rented house is so very very small and has (no kidding) zero shelf space; no cabinets whatsoever either.
*It would make our friends/family happy as we would no longer have to call them and ask to borrow their printers/ink (which is somehow usually very low) at inconvenient times.
As for what purpose we would use it? The purposes are limitless, but I'll give you some examples all the same:
*We both do contract work, and a printer would definitely have come in handy this past tax season.
*SO would mainly use it to print off guitar tab for himself and for his (guitar) students.
*My main purpose would be for the scanning and printing of photographs. Professional stuff, of course, still would have to be sent away, however I do so many collages and boxes for my loved ones as gifts and it would make my life so much easier.
Current projects for an in-home printer/scanner/copier:
*Finish my "ultimate address book" project, which basically means printing out about 50 copies for people to complete--our computer has the latest version of Word, however, none of the printers we usually borrow have the same program; and Microsoft deigned to keep the formats between old and new incompatible.
*Make a photo collage-type memorial for my mother of our recently deceased 12 year old family dog (German shepherd).
*Make a collage of some of my sister's favourite hiking spots in the area, so she'll be able to show them to her new-found big-city friends.
Oh, I could just keep going and going, but these are the most pressing projects I've recently outlined for myself.

...terribly sorry about the length; I suppose it would have been a wise idea to edit pre-typing, eh?

Thanks so much to you and BlogHer for the chance at such a wonderful prize!!

357
Vivian Sun
Apr 28, 2009

Because filling out immigration forms is stressful enough without having to run back and forth to the Kinko's for that "one last form that I forgot to copy".

358
Maggie Smith
Apr 28, 2009

I would love a wireless printer so that I could print from my living room! My printer would be in the office and no one would be none the wiser!

THANKS!

359
Nissa
Apr 28, 2009

I work as a counselor at a non-profit residential treatment program here in the city. We are trying desperately to show that our program can cut costs so that they will not target us for program closure in the upcoming special elections. One of our largest - and most ridiculous - expenses each month is having to constantly buy ink for our *very* crappy little copier that seems to run out after 50 copies.

Thanks so much!

360
Mel Baker
Apr 28, 2009

We need this printer so we can hide from monsters under the bed and print out instructions on what to do next at the same time.
Thank you.